<< Back to all Blogs
Login or Create your own free blog
Layout:
Home > Category: Reviews
 

Viewing the 'Reviews' Category

Software Review: Money Manager EX

February 9th, 2007 at 03:46 pm

* * * * * * * * EDIT * * * * * * * *
If you can't see the images in this
post, try clicking 'Refresh' on your
browser...

Also, the full screen pictures are a
little hard to see because they've
been shrunk down. Try clicking on one
and it'll open the bigger version.
* * * * * * * * EDIT * * * * * * * *

This is a partial review of the Open Source program Money Manager EX I use for financial management. Specifically, it focuses on the 'investment account' capability, since this has recently come up on the forums.

This is the opening 'Home Screen' for MMEX. As you can see, it shows an overview of current account balances and income/expenses for the month. To start tracking investments, you first have to create an 'investment account'.



These are the simple screens you use to set up an account.









Once you finish, you're taken back to the 'Home Screen'. Notice that the new investment account 'ML: Roth IRA' shows under 'Stocks' on the left-hand nav bar.

When you click on an account, you are taken to the account page. For checking/savings, this is where you view and enter transactions. For an investment account, it's where you view and edit holdings.



When you click 'New' you get a pop-up box to enter holding information.



And this is what your holding/s will look like in the account screen.



If you click 'Stocks' on the left-hand nav bar, you'll see an overview of all your investment account holdings.



And the 'Home Screen' will reflect the value of your stock holdings.

Quality Alert: Hanes Sweatpants

February 3rd, 2007 at 02:36 pm

Just noticed something and thought I would share. ARGH!!!!

I bought a new pair of Hanes Mens sweatpants at Target on Tuesday. I've lost my other pair, don't know where they are, and I wanted a pair b/c it was going to be cold.

Regardles. $7 on a new pair of sweatpants, and today I notice there's a hole in the crotch that wasn't there before. WTF! They can't even make pants that'll last a week?!???

Not sure what to do b/c I've spilled coffee on said sweatpants already, and I'm not comfortable taking a pair of stained pants back even with the receipt. So I'd have to wash them, and not sure if I'm comfortable washing something and taking it back either. Plus, I know it's not really Target's fault, Hanes quality control needs to learn how to do their job.

ARGH! I knew I should have bought a pair at the thrift store. They've already made it through the first week with someone else!

Grand Yield Direct #5

November 2nd, 2006 at 03:15 am

Well, my first automatic deposit for GYD finally hit today. It was 'processed' Friday, came out of RLC on Monday, and got to the online account today. Since they have an SLA of 3 business days, all appears well.

Oh, and I earned a penny in interest on my original $5 for the month of October! Not bad seeing as it was there a week *g*

Grand Yield Direct #4

October 26th, 2006 at 09:12 pm

Alright, just a quick update on my new GYD account.

I set it up to take $200/wk every Friday out of RLC (part of my budgetary diplomacy). I got an email yesterday just to remind me my automated withdrawal will be made this Friday, and to please make sure I have the funds available to cover it.

Personally, I don't need the reminder, but I like the fact that they send it out as a courtesy.

Grand Yield Direct #3

October 20th, 2006 at 06:31 pm

Alrighty, my $5 initial deposit from Real Life Checking has appeared in GYD today. It's what, the 20th? My account was approved 10/17 and the $5 left RLC on 10/18, so 2 business day turnaround. Not bad...

Grand Yield Direct #2

October 18th, 2006 at 07:02 pm

Alright, here we are on Day 2. My account was approved yesterday, and I was waiting for my $5 initial deposit from Real Life checking to GYD.

RL checking showed a $5 withdrawal this morning. Sweet! Went to GYD/Apple Bank website, and needed a telephone banking PIN to be able to access their online banking. Since I was approved for the account yesterday, I didn't have said PIN. (Please note, I didn't say PIN number *chuckle*)

Well, I called AB at 2:15 EDT, and was off the phone is under 7 minutes, off to check my email where my PIN was being sent.

I received my email at 2:26, PIN included, and everything is working just as one would expect. WooHOO!!! The deposit still hasn't shown up on their side of the house yet, but I will continue to watch with baited breath.

On 10/18/06, custline1 wrote:
Apple Bank normally mails a letter to the address provided in the Grand Yield Direct application confirming the account and providing the internet banking password. To facilitate the process please use the password provided in this email as you have not yet received this letter.

Response:
Thank you very much for your courteous and prompt service: as a new 'online only' customer, it is greatly appreciated!

tinapbeana

Grand Yield Direct #1

October 17th, 2006 at 02:07 pm

So far so good on this one. My application was approved yesterday, and they sent 2 tiny test deposits to my checking account to make sure I gave them the right routing info. It's supposed to take up to 3 business days, but there they were this morning, ready and waiting!

Now the account is complete and they are initiating the $5 deposit I told them to make during my application process. We'll see how quickly the money goes from my account to theirs.